Here’s all you need to know about Google’s new storage policy
Google has announced its new policies related to storage and has now given more clarification on the issue.
David Lieb, Product Lead, Google Photos on November 11 had announced the changes in the policy of the storage quota of Google services.
The changes in storage facilities will affect mail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files), and/or Google Photos users.
The changes which come into effect from June 1, 2021, are as follows:
If a user is inactive on his Gmail account, Photos, One Drive for more than two years, Google reserves the right to delete the user’s content from the account.
If a user exceeds his storage limit for more than two years, Google reserves the right to delete the user’s content across Photos, Gmail, and One Drive.
Since Google has allowed two years’ time for the changes, the new rules will impact the users only from June 1, 2023.
Any user who is inactive after June 1 will receive constant reminders from Google for the duration of two years before deleting their content.
The users will continue to have access to their accounts even after the content is deleted.
The changes are only applicable to users of Google services while G Suite users, Google Workspace will remain unaffected by the new changes.